This public group is for all ASEEES members. ASEEES will post general announcements and more.

2019 EUSA Prize Competitions

1 voice, 0 replies
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
  • #1443

    ASEEES Admin

    Announcing the 2019 EUSA PRIZE Competitions
    2019 EUSA Haas Fund Fellowship Competition
    The 2018-2019 EUSA Executive Committee is pleased to announce the 2019 EUSA Haas Fund Fellowship Competition, an annual fellowship for graduate student EU-related dissertation research.
    Thanks entirely to contributions to our Ernst Haas Memorial Fund for EU Studies, launched in June 2003 to honor the memory of the late scholar Ernst B. Haas (1924-2003) we will offer at least 2 unrestricted fellowships of a minimum of $2000 to support the dissertation research of any graduate student pursuing an EU-related dissertation topic in the academic year 2019-2020.

    Please note the following stipulations for applicants, who must:
    • be pursuing the doctoral degree (PhD) at an accredited institution in any country;
    • be writing a dissertation in English;
    • have an EU-related, doctoral dissertation topic approved by the professor who will supervise it; and,
    • be able to demonstrate clearly the relevance to EU studies of the dissertation topic.

    Applicants for this Fellowship should submit:
    (1) A CV;
    (2) A 200 word description of the dissertation research project that explains its relevance to EU studies;
    (3) A 100 word statement that specifies how the fellowship would be used.
    (4) And ask for two letters of support to be sent directly to EUSA. These letters should be from professors serving on the student’s dissertation committee, and one should be the chair. They MUST be sent as a pdf attachment to with the subject line 2019 Haas Prize.

    Please submit applications online at The firm deadline for applications to be received is November 16, 2018.  The fellowship will be paid in one lump sum by check and in US dollars only.

    EUSA Prize for Best Conference Paper
    The Prize for Best Conference Paper will be awarded in 2019 to a paper presented at the 2017 Biennial Conference in Boston. The prize carries a cash award of $100. The nomination period for this prize is no longer open. All those who presented an original paper at the Conference were considered, except persons who were members of the EUSA Executive Committee and persons who have already won the EUSA Best Conference Paper Prize. To be eligible for the prize, a paper must have been:

    1. Accepted for the 2019 conference program;
    2. Uploaded to the EUSA website by the pre-conference deadline (instructions were sent to authors in the run-up to the conference;
    3. nominated by the chair of the panel in which the paper appears.

    EUSA Prize for Best Dissertation
    The EUSA Prize for Best Dissertation in EU studies will be awarded in 2019 to a dissertation written in English on any aspect of European integration between September 1, 2016 and August 31, 2018. The student must have defended and deposited the final dissertation and graduated during this period as well. Dissertations submitted for students who did not receive the PhD degree and graduate during the specified time period will be disqualified. Only one dissertation per department at an institution may be nominated for this prize. The prize carries a cash award of $250. Please submit applications online at The dissertation should be uploaded there as well as a short cover letter from the Department Chair. The deadline is November 18, 2016.

    EUSA Book Prize
    The 2003-05 Executive Committee of the European Union Studies Association established the EUSA Book Prize, to be awarded at each biennial EUSA conference, for a book in English on any aspect of EU studies and published in the two years prior to the EUSA Conference. This prize carries a cash award of $US 300 to the author(s). For the 2019 EUSA Book Prize, to be awarded in Miami, books published in 2017 and 2018 will be eligible. To be considered, authors or publishers MUST submit three (hard) copies of the nominated book (with a letter of transmittal), one directly to each member of the EUSA Book Prize committee at their address below, and submit an application online at Both of these steps must be completed for the book to be considered. The deadline for receipt of the books by the committee members is November 18, 2018.  The names and addresses of the committee members are:

    Frederic Merand, Chair
    706A Bloomfield
    Outremont QC
    H2V 3S3

    Kalypso Nicolaidis
    Centre for International Studies
    Dept. of Politics and International Relations
    University of Oxford
    Manor Road
    OX1 3UQ

    Craig Parsons
    Department of Political Science
    1284 University of Oregon
    Eugene, OR 97403-1284

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Only members can participate in this group's discussions.